Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Printing Problems

Posted by sirkellsworth 
Printing Problems
May 21, 2015 07:38PM
Hi everyone,Im pretty new to 3D printers and working with them. I ordered the Prusa i3 pro c printer from Geeetech and have assembled it. I have tried several prints I found on thingiverse.com and all prints have caused my printer to move back and forth on the x-axis until it reaches the end. I have a end stop on the left side of the x-axis and the printer ignores it when the printer reaches the end of the axis.

I have been using Repetier-Host for Mac to generate the gcodes. I think what is causing the problem is the program is drawing a line (I think the extruder path) from one side of the virtual box to the other along the x-axis and off into the distance. Here is a screenshot of what I am talking about.

Again, I'm fairly new to 3D printers and dont know a whole lot about it so please tell me if you need anymore info to help me with my problem.
Re: Printing Problems
May 22, 2015 06:10AM
What firmware and controller using? Where are the endstops positiond?

Check my rubbish blog for my prusa i3

up and running
[3dimetech.blogspot.co.uk]
May 22, 2015 05:58PM
The Firmware is Marlin V1. Im not entirely sure what you mean by controller but I am using Repetier host. (I think thats what you mean) The endstops are at the 0s. So the x endstop is at the left side of the printer. The y endstop is at the back of the printer and the z endstop is at the bottom of the z-axis.
May 22, 2015 06:05PM
Also, I've been experimenting a little bit today and it looks like there is some kind of communication error between the repetier and the printer. When I add stl files to repetier, it shows them as being very small. I upscale them so they are the correct size in the virtual box then send it to the printer. The printer thinks that this means it is 10 times larger then what it can actually print. Do you know how to fix an error like this?