Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

[Discussion] Distance, default acceleration and "plausible" speed

Posted by ishe7ata 
[Discussion] Distance, default acceleration and "plausible" speed
April 19, 2015 03:05AM
Hey there,

Before I dig into it, I've just done my first build so I'm a noob for now. So take it easy on me.

My first printer still has some issues that I'm trying to solve like oozing and other stuff. Yet, I get very nice prints at 25mm/s (more on the numbers later) with default Acc settings of 60mm/s^2 (I know now that this is too low). So I print a part in three hours a small low poly pokemon and it looks great. Then I looked at my speeds and try to undertsand how things work to get greater speeds. I increase my default acc to 3000 and then setup the speed in slic3er at 25 like usual. I start my print and it waaaaay much more faster in a negative way so build quality suffer a lot. then it hit me...

1- Those who are reporting to be printing on 100mm/s on youtube mostly are NOT reaching those speeds. I tried and saw what a 100mm/s looks like with enough acceleration and it's waaay faster than what i saw on youtube.
2- let's take a step back and examine those numbers anyways; 25mm/s is 2.5 CM/s and 100mm/s is 10CM/s that is insane speeds!!!!! think about it for a second. 10 CM in each second. and of course since your printer moves are too short the printer, in most cases doesn't reach those speeds. this issue is also discussed by Thomas on his channel [www.youtube.com]

now I have many questions
1- what are a "good" sensible def acceleration values?
2- what are the actual speed that we are REALLY reaching during prints?
3- what are "good" sensible achievable printing speeds? A speed that we can actually achieve!
Re: [Discussion] Distance, default acceleration and "plausible" speed
April 19, 2015 03:32AM