Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Filament Extruding Incorrectly

Posted by rpartovi 
Filament Extruding Incorrectly
March 16, 2015 08:47PM
So I've been having issues with my last few prints on my MakerFarm 8" Prusa i3v. When my extruder starts laying the down the first few layers they come out all squiggly looking. As more layers are being layed down, the extruder starts laying out the filament a lot more clean and crisp looking. I'm not quite sure what is actually causing this issue and was hoping someone would give me advise on how to go about fixing this issue.

I have my extruder at 225 degrees and I'm using ABS filament.

I have also attaches some images as reference.

Please let me know if you have any questions, thanks!

[imgur.com]
[i.imgur.com]
Re: Filament Extruding Incorrectly
March 16, 2015 08:53PM
Well it looks like your first layer height is too large, it should smear the plastic which also gives you better adhesion. Have you calibrated your hotend temps? They are not always spot on, I have not done mine yet due to all the swapping of extruders and hotends as of late but in my experience ABS likes to be printed at 240-245C I use 245C all the time. I am unsure what the zig zag is, check your belts, could be too loose or too tight (mentioned too tight as the wobble could be the teeth on the belts in x and y wobbling if too tight, it is a guess and a long shot but thought I would mention it. Have you calibrated your current in the stepper motors? I have heard if they are too low that could also contribute to a condition like this.
March 16, 2015 10:07PM
First the 225c is a little low for ABS, I think most people use 235c while I found I get stronger parts at 250c but that requires an all metal hotend.