Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Calibrate z-home to correct bed clearance

Posted by marshap1 
Calibrate z-home to correct bed clearance
February 23, 2015 12:23PM
Hello, I'm pretty new to this side of the printer, been a designer for forever. I recently got a Makerfarm Prusa i3v 12" printer. I have tried every variation I can think of but I cannot seem to calibrate the z-home position to the position when the print begins. I'll elaborate:

I have used the auto-home function on the LCD, as well as Pronterface and Repetier Host. I have leveled all four corners of the bed as well as the center of the bed. I want to be as accurate as possible so I use a feeler gauge to set the clearance.

Once I have the bed completely set (once again using the z-home function to calibrate the z-axis endstop to the clearance of the bed) I begin a print. At this point I would expect that once the print begins the nozzle would start at the correct clearance above the print bed. Not so...

Instead, the nozzle begins about 2.2mm (measured by lapping multiple feeler leaves together to add to the clearance produced) above the print bed. Also, when I hit z-home in Repetier Host sometimes the carriage will lower, hit the endstop, retract and then lower and stop. However, sometimes, it doesn't go through that whole process but rather moves up a bit and then down or a variation thereof...