Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Bad glass or bad idea?

Posted by Ryan_M 
Bad glass or bad idea?
February 06, 2015 01:25AM
So I'm a newb. I was having issues getting ABS (a free spool that came with my kit) to stick to the glass on the heated bed. I was using ABS juice. It wasn't bad but not great. I roughed up the glass a bit with #320 SiC grit to give the part a little extra grab - I grind telescope optics so the stuff to do this was handy. Worked perfect! Was printing 245°C HE / 115°C HB for first layer then 240°C/110°C after that. FWIW there were other issues that made me suspect that it wasn't great filament.

I got some new filament from a local supplier that I'd only read good things about. I started printing with the same settings as above. After a dozen or so layers I noticed some strings in the print so I dropped the extruder temp to 235°C and that solved the problem. As you can see in the picture it grabbed onto the glass big time. The glass it still stuck to the parts and I can't get it off. This happened after the print was done and everything was cooling down. I'm going to assume this is a freak thing that doesn't happen often bud I'm wondering if it might have been just a bad piece of glass. I just did a print on a new piece of glass (with the lower ABS temps) and am getting the edges lifting. So I'm wondering if I rough up this glass again if I should expect the same thing to happen. Maybe try a finer grit?
Attachments:
open | download - r-IMAG0577.jpg (98.8 KB)
Re: Bad glass or bad idea?
February 06, 2015 04:56AM
Try putting the glass+print in the freezer for half an hour.

Large delta printer [miscsolutions.wordpress.com], E3D tool changer, Robotdigg SCARA printer, Crane Quad and Ormerod

Disclosure: I design Duet electronics and work on RepRapFirmware, [duet3d.com].
February 13, 2015 01:37AM