Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

New Printer Troubles

Posted by Klokworker 
New Printer Troubles
January 28, 2015 10:35PM
Hi all,

I'm relatively new to this whole printing thing, and having a really hard time getting consistent results out of my Prusa Mendel 2. I'm printing Reprapper brand white PLA on unheated blue tape over glass, using an E3D v5 hotend. I have Marlin firmware on a RAMPS 1.4 board. Control software is Repetier Host, and I'm using Slic3r as my slicing software. Up until I started tweaking things in response to the problems below, I had been having reasonable success with printing my first layer at 225°C and the rest at 220, with a cooling fan on tall parts (not that I've printed many of those).

I have gotten good prints out of the machine in the past, but rarely more than one successful print in a row.

I'm fighting bed adhesion problems: last night I got the best first layer I've seen in a while, then today nothing sticks at all and the extruded material just clumps up on the nozzle of the hotend. To fix this, I've tried to reset the Z 0 height and I raised my first layer temperature 5°C, neither of which helped.

I'm also trying to figure out why my printer keeps skipping steps. It seems to occur on both the X and Y axes, and I don't think I've seen a skip on the first or second layer. It doesn't always skip steps, but it's pretty frequent. I installed a Y-axis belt tensioner of my own design, and it seems to function alright. Now, I think my problem is that my acceleration values in Marlin were too high, since I used the defaults during machine setup. What's a recommended starting point for acceleration values for a flexible machine like this one, and how can you tell if they're too high or too low?

Any ideas anyone? There's so much to consider that I'm pretty overwhelmed at this point.

Thanks in advance,
Klokworker
Re: New Printer Troubles
January 30, 2015 10:05AM