Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

ABS print sticks nicely to tape... the tape? Not so much.

Posted by kylix.rd 
ABS print sticks nicely to tape... the tape? Not so much.
January 18, 2015 06:35PM
Hello folks,

Has anyone had any issues with the Kapton tape sticking so well and the part warping so hard that it is lifing the tape from the bed? Any ideas on how to limit warping in this instance? I'm guessing that the HBP is softening the glue on the Kapton tape enough that it can pull away from the glass surface. I've tried lowering the bed temp, but then I have other ahesion issues.

I'm a total newb, tinkerer, and all around inexperienced with this whole 3d printing thing. About two years ago I built a gantry CNC machine all with the plan of retrofitting it into a 3d printer. I spent the last couple of years building an extruder (modifed Wades cut from 1/4" thick HDPE on the CNC), hot-end, purchasing a HBP, added an "A" axis for the extruder (aka. E axis for the CNC), etc...

The goal is to use this machine to print up parts for a standalone printer. I'm looking at the Rostock or some variant thereof. I designed and built my own Nozzle and HBP temperature controller based on an ATMega328p, some MOSFETs, MAX31855-KASA based thermocouple circuit (also built by me). Once I got the software nailed down, the controller is working very well and keeps the temps pretty solid.

The hardest part of the whole process so far was getting a proper hobbed bolt made. After about 8-10 ruined 8mm bolts, I finally got made one that will reliably feed the 3mm ABS filament I'm using. I've been able to print some pretty complicated things without any extruder jams or other hiccups.