Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Not sure of my issue

Posted by verb.zero 
Not sure of my issue
October 13, 2014 06:08PM
This is my first attempt at this type of print with such small/thin pieces, I using the Wilson TS ramps1.4. I am using t2 timing belts and they tight with tensioners. I have no idea why it doing this so here is the image. The spirals are super sloppy and my extruder jammed after i adjusted the heat to 180 im printing this in PLA and the extruder nozzle was deforming the top chess piece at first .

Re: Not sure of my issue
October 13, 2014 06:26PM
I had strings and blobs like that on my early prints. I fixed it by increasing retraction to 4mm in slic3r and reducing hot end temperature. 180C is already quite low for PLA, but perhaps your temperature measurement is not accurate.

Large delta printer [miscsolutions.wordpress.com], E3D tool changer, Robotdigg SCARA printer, Crane Quad and Ormerod

Disclosure: I design Duet electronics and work on RepRapFirmware, [duet3d.com].
October 13, 2014 06:32PM
PS - increasing retraction speed may also help. I found the thread in which all this was discussed, see [forums.reprap.org].

Large delta printer [miscsolutions.wordpress.com], E3D tool changer, Robotdigg SCARA printer, Crane Quad and Ormerod

October 14, 2014 01:23PM
Alright so after reading your forum and making adjustments in slic3r things are getting a little bit better. I went into the setting on the arduino and changed the max feed rate that didn't seem to do anything worth while.IF the print has large layers/objects the print is fine and look quite nice. When i do the small calibration prints or this chess piece the small blobs happen.