Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

i3 prusa not printing like it says it is

Posted by dano9573 
i3 prusa not printing like it says it is
September 12, 2014 03:10PM
Hello all, total newbie here, excuse any mispellings or ignorant statements. Hopefully this is the right area to post this.

I am attempting to finalize the build for a Prusa i3 kit from DIY Tech shop, Ramps 1.4, marlin and pronterface. I have preconfigured Marlin installed and confirmed that all parts work. Appear to have done all software, firmware correctly. I have been able to move, home all motors, exturde the correct amount of filament, all the basic calibration stuff. All seems to work fine. For the most part all has gone well, including the learning curve, however I have arrived at the point that the printer should be printing the test, calibration parts and I cannot get it to print. I have however had issue with setting the z axis endstop and getting the hot end close enough to the bed. That I think I just need more practice at or better instructions.

I used slicer to generate the gcode seperate from pronterface and then uploaded the gcode file, hit print and nothing happens. The feed back in pronterface says that it is printing but nothing is happening. Then at some point a few minutes later the printer does a weird juke and jive like it's going home and then stops again. Nothing prints though. On one attempt the printer did appear to be trying to print something but the hot end was too far up, my bad for not having it correct, but the printer just seemed to be going back in forth in one spot anyways so not sure it would have actually printed the correct thing other than to make a blob that should have been a box.

Have no clue what to do from here. I have scoured the forums and google and am no closer to printing than I was. I'm sure there is alot more info needed to decipher my current mess.