Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Intermittent extrusion?

Posted by jjg 
jjg
Intermittent extrusion?
August 28, 2014 04:47PM
Hi all,

I've been able to resolve problems and improve print quality of my MakerGear Prusa Mendel successfully for about 2 years, but I've been troubleshooting this bug for what seems like six months, so I'm hoping you can tell me that I missed something obvious that I can fix and get back to printing my Tantillus smiling smiley

The attached photos do a pretty good job describing the problem. After the first few layers, the nozzle starts depositing plastic very intermittently (photo 4 shows a print stopped while it was laying down one of these messed up layers on top of earlier well-formed ones). I haven't identified an exact pattern, but if you look at it long enough you start to see things. This problem appeared gradually, I had been printing for weeks without issue and then slowly I started to see gaps intermittently in infill, then more regularly, then in shells, and finally to what you see here. I print almost exclusively with PLA, between 180 - 200C depending on vendor and color.

I've tried a lot of things to resolve this (I'll include a list at the bottom of this post) and while I'm able to change various aspects of the print, this problem has persisted throughout all my testing.

I'm not really sure what to try next, the only ideas I have at this part amount to swapping out parts for new ones, and I'd rather avoid doing that randomly since I was hoping to spend my printer allowance getting a second machine on-line instead of upgrading this one.

Machine details:
MakerGear Prusa Mendel, many modifications but of particular interest may be a customized J-Head (using ceramic heater instead of power resistor, which worked well for almost a year before this problem showed up). Always-on fan cooling the J-Head barrel, secondary software-controlled fan ducted toward output area.