Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Funky prints with PLA vs ABS

Posted by scottdky 
Funky prints with PLA vs ABS
July 21, 2014 02:58AM
I am fairly new to 3D printing, and I have been printing with ABS (despite not having a heated bed) with great success (aside from some problems with bed adhesion). I have now started to experiment with printing PLA, and am having a terrible time. The filament extrudes very inconsistently. It always takes a couple of laps during the brim to start flowing. When drawing small inner perimeters, it barely lays down even half the circle. I have tried slowing down inner perimeters in Slic3r, but it doesn't seem to slow them down - it almost seems like it prints them faster than outer perimeters. When you look at several layers, there are occasional gaps. When I printed in ABS, the plastic always flowed very smoothly - no gaps regardless of speed. The temp I used for ABS is 225, and I have cranked the PLA temp up as high as 230 with little difference in behavior from 215. Below 215, it just emits beads from the extruder. BTW, I am using Slic3r with RepetierHost.

Any ideas, suggestions?
Re: Funky prints with PLA vs ABS
July 21, 2014 11:29AM
More details about your setup would help.