Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Print Quality Prusa I3

Posted by Grazza 
Print Quality Prusa I3
July 08, 2014 10:39PM
Hello everyone I am very new to the 3D printing field, I have just recently purchased a Prusa I3 from 3dprinterczar, construction went fine, all axes are calibrated as well as the extruder. The hotend is a J head MK IV with a 0.4mm orifice.

I am printing with ABS at 220C with the bed at 93C.

I am printing on a 5mm glass sheet that is very flat, with a coating of ABS juice. First layer height is 0.1mm the rest are 0.2mm.

Here is a print with the fan off:
dropbox image

Here is a print with the fan on:
dropbox image

I have seen that a fan with ABS is shunned, but it seems to dramatically improve my prints, what is the go, I have spent ages tweaking slic3r settings.

The small 10mm x 10mm calibration cube comes out ok, but when I print something larger the corners will warp up because the fan is cooling the bed.

Will a duct for the fan solve all my problems?

I also searched through 15 pages of this section and couldn't find a similar enough problem.

Sorry if I forgot anything, please let me know.
Cheers

Edited 2 time(s). Last edit at 07/09/2014 01:10AM by Grazza.
Re: Print Quality Prusa I3
July 09, 2014 11:52AM
Yup, a duct to prevent to cold air from coming in contact with your heated bed would definitely help with the warping.

I used to "tape" a duct with kapton because I was too lazy. Heh.
July 09, 2014 08:04PM
Awesome, thanks a lot!
July 12, 2014 08:23PM
i would try higher temperatures. theres no way you should get warping anyway with anythign that small and it looks like your plastic is instahardening as it leaves the nozzel. I print abs at 265 and bed 115 works well. I havent yet read of anyone having a problem using too high temps with abs
July 13, 2014 11:32AM
Hey

great to see that there are other people who got their prusa i3 from 3dprinterczar!