Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Kossel Mini circular objects/ corners small bumps...

Posted by Harleym 
Kossel Mini circular objects/ corners small bumps...
June 02, 2014 12:43AM
Hi everyone

I'm still fairly new to printing & for the most part have been really impressed by my Kossel Mini kit assembled outcome, but something I've noticed now that my eye is getting more critical, is that my prints are being produced with small bumps which appear randomly (all objects but never at the same point on the same objects) I started watching the print more closely when in progress & notice very momentary stops occurring particularly in circular objects. As the print head circles the object it stops for a fraction of a second perhaps at around every 170 degrees on a 2cm diameter object. On a straight run it doesn't happen until it hits a corner, but not every corner, just the occasional random corner. The reason I've noticed it on circular objects is because circles are essentially a series of straights with corners in high concentrations. I think this is just long enough to allow a slightly increased build up of filament that ends up as a small bump on the surface. I don't believe this is intentional but rather an interruption to the movement as the processor gets busy with other tasks such as recalculating or loading the next set of co-ordinates. Is this normal? Is there a way to avoid it i.e. extrusion speed, temperature etc?

My current slic3r settings for 1.75mm PLA are 190DegC .4mm hot end nozzle, Perimeter 30mm/s, infill 60mms/s, travel 130mm/s no brim. These are pretty much the defaults recommended. Any ideas?
Re: Kossel Mini circular objects/ corners small bumps...
June 02, 2014 01:10AM
Here's what I'm talking about...
Attachments:
open | download - 1401685238951.jpg (142.5 KB)
open | download - 1401686183367.jpg (121.5 KB)
June 02, 2014 05:54AM