Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Print trouble shooting -- too hot ?

Posted by Jerms.a320 
Print trouble shooting -- too hot ?
April 22, 2014 07:09AM
Hi guys,

I am printing a quail egg holder I have designed and the printer is printing the Hex raft really well but the parts of the egg carton seem to be way to hot -- the plastic seems to be piling up and the hot end , the hotend has to "jump" over it (it pushes the hotend up and then it springs back after it has crossed t section ) ---- the raft is only 2 layers high

any ideas (see pic attach)

thanks

Jeremy
Attachments:
open | download - Print problem.jpg (484.1 KB)
Re: Print trouble shooting -- too hot ?
April 22, 2014 10:43AM
Looks like too high extrusion, but I'm no expert like some around here.
April 22, 2014 06:57PM
Thanks dr !

So I should re measure my e-feed and update the value in sprinter ?
April 23, 2014 03:46AM
Not sure what I'm looking at in you pic but I'll assume that the vertical layers in the back is the raft? This seems to be followed by a honeycomb infil. Do you not have any solid layers at the bottom of the actual print?

April 23, 2014 10:06AM
There are a few different things to do in the way of extrusion. Measure steps/mm to provide accurate firmware movement (yes, what you just said), getting an accurate measurement of your filament, and then changing your extrusion width if the first two don't provide perfection. I've had much difference in the way of numbers compared to everyone else (ie, I print PLA at 162C), but for comparison I have my filament set at 1.7mm and extrusion width 0.7. My printer out performs the industrial printer here at work.
April 24, 2014 01:28AM
Thanks again doc !

I'll tweak some values tonight --- I think the idea that the printer is just pushing out too much plastic makes sence, it would explain why the Raft and honeycomb is fine