Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Extruder pressing into print

Posted by rteslow 
Extruder pressing into print
February 14, 2013 02:57AM
Hi All,

I was hoping I could get some input with my prints, I'm very new to this. When printing it seems as if my extruder is dragging over the print and I'm not sure which setting to change to resolve this, I'm using Slic3r if that helps.

Thank you,
Re: Extruder pressing into print
February 14, 2013 08:54AM
Slic3R has a Z lift function setting which raised the nozzle as it moves from one print area to another to avoid the problem you are talking about. Sorry but I cannot tell you exactly where it is at the moment - if you cannot locate it, post back and let us know which version you are working with. If I use Slic3r, I generally set a z lift figure of 0.25mm.

Alan
February 14, 2013 02:10PM
A Picture would help.

If you mean the nozzle is dragging through the print when doing fill, it may be that the Extruder isn't calibrated right or your filament diameter isn't set right in Slic3r.

How dose it do on the 20mm solid cube test?

Komb'
Glankonian Protoforms
February 14, 2013 02:14PM
Hi Komb, Alzibiff,

I'll take a photo of my test cube tonight and post it. I did a Z calibration with a sheet of paper yesterday and I did verify that I'm printing 3mm filament.

Thanks again!
February 14, 2013 08:47PM
Mine does that from time to time and it is sometimes because of bad bed leveling. As my z-endstop is the standard one, it moves, causing the be level to be too high, whihch will lead the extruder to drag the printer.

Make sure you bed is leveled and you can hardly move two sheets of paper between the extruder and the bed.

Cheers,
Franklin Dattein
February 15, 2013 03:16AM
I think you'll probably need to measure the filament diametre with a micrometre. 3mm will just be a nominal size, most likely.