Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Arduino power question

Posted by Papajohn88 
Arduino power question
May 08, 2017 12:07AM
I am new to RAMPS, I have a RAMPS v1.4 as an upgrade to my 3D printer. My question / problem is I do not want to have a PC connected and running all the time since the setup I have has an SD card reader on full graphics LCD display board. I thought the Arduino was supposed to get power from the RAMPS shield but I guess I am wrong in that assumption. Can I power the Arduino with a wall wart plugged into the barrel connector? What ratings do I need to look for in a wall wart to power the Arduino? Can I safely use a 12 volt supply plugged into the barrel connector of the Arduino? Should I remove the D1 diode? Thanks, sorry for asking these questions if they have already been asked and answered,

John Guenther
Anderson, Indiana
U.S.A.
Re: Arduino power question
May 08, 2017 04:52AM
"I thought the Arduino was supposed to get power from the RAMPS shield but I guess I am wrong in that assumption."

Correct, but it was never designed to drive a glcd, they suck to much power. (non ardunio mega2560 boards provide more current)
power is taken from the ramps to the mega threw D1 to the mega vin pin.

"Can I power the Arduino with a wall wart plugged into the barrel connector?"

Yes. But it wont help the most common power issue, voltage regulator on the mega is under rated and keep reading..
And you still need 12 into both sets of power plugs on the ramps to provide power for fans, heaters, steppers and heated bed.

" What ratings do I need to look for in a wall wart to power the Arduino? Can I safely use a 12 volt supply plugged into the barrel connector of the Arduino?"
7-12V is recommended to power a mega2560

" Should I remove the D1 diode?"
You have to remove D1 to use the DC barrel connector.