Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Arduino fuse or mosfet getting hot / no display output

Posted by Royce 
Arduino fuse or mosfet getting hot / no display output
January 20, 2017 07:07AM
Hi folks,

I'm pretty new to the RAMPS topics, so please forgive my newbieness in some points smiling smiley

I hooked up my RAMPS shield to an Arduino Mega, powered it via USB and flashed the latest Marlin firmware (no settings made yet).
Additionally I connected a mechanical entstop (X_MIN) and the full graphics LCD.

As soon as I connect both +/- connectors (the green ones on the shield) to a 12V power supply, the fuse or mosfet (I'm not 100% sure which one it is) near the Arduino power input jack gets hot very quickly.
Also, the display lights up, but no output is given.
There is no load on the ramps (stepper drivers installed but no motors connected) except the display.

Is there a reason for the heat-up of the above named components?

Thanks in advance

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 01/20/2017 07:10AM by Royce.
Re: Arduino fuse or mosfet getting hot / no display output
January 20, 2017 08:02AM
The hot component sounds like the voltage regulator (its on the mega, not the ramps?)

It indicates you are drawing far to much power

This is commonly cause by plugging you endstops in backwards and shorting +5v to gnd via the endstop switch.

remove the end stops asap, but its already probably to late. Doing this destroys the voltage regulator.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 01/20/2017 08:05AM by Dust.
January 20, 2017 08:14AM
Yes, it's on the mega.
Damn, that doesnt sound good. So I'll probably need a new mega, right?
January 20, 2017 05:38PM
If the display lights up then you haven't necessarily miswired the endstops and shorted out the regulator. The 5v regulator on the Arduino often overheats when driving an LCD. See [reprap.org].

Large delta printer [miscsolutions.wordpress.com], E3D tool changer, Robotdigg SCARA printer, Crane Quad and Ormerod