Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

RAMPS for external drives?

Posted by ldt006 
RAMPS for external drives?
May 16, 2013 03:16PM
Newbie here.
I would like to build a 3D this summer and am collecting parts but mostly reading and learning.

A bunch of powerfull stepper motors, Nema 17 and 23 are waiting to be used but the Pololu's won't drive these, 2 - 3 Amp will be needed.

Is there a good RAMPS design somwhere out there for use with external drives?

I'm looking for a board with screw terminals or something else to neatly connect the external drives.

Thanks in advance.
VDX
Re: RAMPS for external drives?
May 16, 2013 03:26PM
... you can use any stepper drivers, that accept TTL level (=GND to +5V) for the DIR- and CLOCK-pins ... ENABLE is optional for idling the power when pausing, but not necessary.

I'm driving industrial 3-phase motors with 325Volts @2Amps with an old GEN3 or an Arduino with RAMPS 1.2 without any converters or problems winking smiley

Viktor
--------
Aufruf zum Projekt "Müll-freie Meere" - [reprap.org] -- Deutsche Facebook-Gruppe - [www.facebook.com]

Call for the project "garbage-free seas" - [reprap.org]
May 16, 2013 04:00PM
Ramps for external drives was probably not the best title, I'm looking for an Arduino 2560 shield with good connectors.

I did see that it is possible to use the RAMPS to connect external drives but the wiring looks complex and flimsy with those Pololu pin headers.

Stepper drives are no problem, I have several models: TB6560, Picstep etc. wich should work.

A solution would be using a small adapter PCB with decent terminals which plugs onto the Pololu headers (if this does exist?).
This would still leave the other (flimsy IMHO) RAMPS headers for limit switches etc.

I'm working with profesional CNC machines at work and several DIY routers and a mill at home, the usual 3D printer wiring doesn't look very reliable, that's why I would like to know if there isn't something better for the Arduino.
VDX