Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Ramps 1.4 overheating or shorting?

Posted by Drangid 
Ramps 1.4 overheating or shorting?
April 06, 2013 11:14AM
I've got a ramps 1.4 board, and I'm using a heated bed. The bed was working fine for the past 2 weeks since I started this, but today I get bad things happening.

The heatsink next to the D8 where the heated bed is connect grows immediately hot as soon as I apply power to the machine. I don't even have the computer plugged in anymore, just the power, and this heat sink will immediately reach untouchable temperatures. If I leave the power plugged in for 5 or 10 seconds the plastic mofset terminals start to smoke. Yikes. Also, the LED on the heated bed is now always on when there's power. It doesn't matter if there's no computer giving it instructions. I tried re-connecting the computer and sending commands to turn off the bed, but it just won't turn off.

I'm not very experienced with electronics, but sounds like a short? Is there any thing that can be done, or does it sound like I need a new ramps?
Re: Ramps 1.4 overheating or shorting?
April 06, 2013 07:02PM
Update, Okay, so I used a multimeter on the D8 connectors (the heated bed connectors) , and they are putting out 12V even when the wires to the heat bed are not attached. No other connector puts out power when not in use, so I'm going to assume that's bad.
April 06, 2013 09:45PM
Err, yeah, that's not good confused smiley
Anyway, disconnect the 12v power to the inner connector (next to D8) and just plug the outer 12v connector in. Does the printer operate normally?
April 06, 2013 11:30PM
Note that waitaki is talking about it printing normally without a heated bed.

My guess would be that the FET is damaged, but it would be good to also check your Arduino Mega (specifically the state of the D8 pin when it is powered up).