Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Beginner troubles

Posted by Skypuppet 
Beginner troubles
December 08, 2011 01:49AM
Hi. I'm VERY new to this RepRap stuff. I'm also seriously lacking in code hacking or programming, so please bear with me. I am a product designer in the watersports industry and I work in SolidWorks primarily. I've designed products using SW since their early days (starting in 1998). So my CAD modeling experience is extensive, but computer language... lacking. Oh, and I run my SolidWorks in Windows Vista.

I know it can be annoying when new guys don't seem to search the forum before asking questions, but I couldn't find answers to my particular questions. Similar ones, yes, but not what I need.

I just received my assembled prusa today and was happy to start playing with it. It was listed as having RAMPS 1.3 electronics, but it seems like a lot of machines have 1.4. Not sure if there is a significant diffference.

It also came pre-flashed with sprinter and was listed as calibrated and working.

Now I have it all hooked up with power and USB, but I cant seem to "connect to printer". I DL'd the software/drivers for the Arduino Mega 2560 (windows).

Once I installed the Arduino software, the "new hardware detected" prompt went away and I saw a notification that the new device was connected to com-7. It was actually in a USB, but I suppose it see's that as com-7.

I also have Skeinforge and Printrun downloaded. In addition, I downloaded RepSnapper and played with it some. It seems to be simpler than Skeinforge.

On another note, I did see some people having trouble with Vista. Please let me know if there is an issue.

So in summary:

1) I use Windows Vista

2) I have a Prusa based printer

3) RAMPS 1.3 electronics

4) Flashed with Sprinter

5) Arduino software installed

6) Skeinforge or RepSnapper... Which one?