Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

[Off-topic] non- or semi-commercial engineering

Posted by dslc 
[Off-topic] non- or semi-commercial engineering
March 02, 2012 05:21PM
Hi all,

I'm involved with an informal group called "Sharing Ireland" and wanted to invite some of you to get involved. (See below for link and more information on Sharing Ireland.)

Personally, I'm an engineering student and am giving a lot of thought at the moment to setting up some sort of "semi-commercial" engineering company/collective. I think that something like this is very badly needed in Ireland and am willing to stick my neck out to invite dialogue on the issue. (Actually I think dozens of initiatives like this are needed - not just one - but that's for another day). I can try to explain the details of what I have in mind in due course but let me first try to explain why I am mentioning this here.

Firsly, I have enormous faith in open-source software and engineering - not only has it had a dramatic impact on my own life and learning, it also offers perhaps the most compelling evidence ever that innovation and development can take place outside a commercial context.
Secondly, Reprap is one of the coolest open-source hardware projects you will find - and, if I do help to set up some sort of initiative, I/we would almost certainly be building/sharing/selling 3D printers.
Thirdly I want to invite readers directly to be involved in this - I want to work with people who are already familiar with open-source tools and communities. This would need people who not only have the right ethos but who are also highly talented.