Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Correcting horizontal banding in gcode with python

Posted by justine.haupt 
Correcting horizontal banding in gcode with python
October 05, 2017 02:09PM
Hello,

I've been commissioning a homebrew large format printer for a couple months now, pulling my hair out with redesigns to fix various mechanical issues as I go.

The machine in question is large (24" square build surface) and I went with a 4 linear shaft + 4 leadscrew arrangement belted to 2 motors. Learning an alignment/setup process has been painful and hindsight is 20/20, but long story short I have a periodic error in the Z movement which is likely due to eccentricity of the pulleys. Using a digital drop indicator revealed a periodic deviation of -.013mm to .042mm from the nominal Z movements with a period exactly equal to the leadscrew pitch.

This causes fairly extreme horizontal banding in my test prints and needed to be corrected.

I had already redesigned the Z motion system once, and considering the error is predictable, I wrote a simple Python script to post-process any gcode I run to imprint a negating deviation, being sure not to exceed the Z step resolution (5um in my case). This also required that I clock the leadscrew pulleys to be synchronized.

Here's a print without correction:

Image error
[failed to open stream: php_network_getaddresses: getaddrinfo failed: Name or service not known]
open image URL

And with:

Image error
[failed to open stream: php_network_getaddresses: getaddrinfo failed: Temporary failure in name resolution]
open image URL

See here for a couple more photos: [lightsmithscientific.com]

For me this is a temporary solution, but if anyone has a need I went ahead and put the code on GitHub: [github.com]

~Justine

Edited 2 time(s). Last edit at 10/05/2017 02:14PM by justine.haupt.
Re: Correcting horizontal banding in gcode with python
October 05, 2017 11:37PM