Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Controlling a RepRap with ESP8266 and no Arduino

Posted by lhartmann 
Re: Controlling a RepRap with ESP8266 and no Arduino
November 18, 2016 05:46AM
Thanks!
But I don't even know how it really performs.
Being a programmer, I don't have any oscilloscope or that sort of stuff. LEDs are my best feedback. smiling smiley (And the serial output)

The Marlin config is untouched for me except the board set to BOARD_ESPEXTRA, and I changed the baud rate to 115200. Nothing else yet.
"pgmspace.h" needs to be hacked, because of the PGMSPACE and PSTR macros give compiler errors.
I've read somewhere that it became a problem since a specific version of the IDE.
But setting them simply to:
"
#define PROGMEM
#define PSTR(s) (s)
"
won't cause any problems, there is plenty of RAM even like this.

I could not test it with stepper motors for now.
There are definitely problems with that, because in the Marlin logs there are many lines stating that it wants to change the step pins too fast.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 11/18/2016 05:47AM by Hubberthus.
November 19, 2016 06:24AM
Nice to hear that, Hubberthus.

If you are using I2S shifter output you may choose to use software PWM. You get 1/192kHz resolution for both pulse width and period. That means 193 possible values for 1kHz PWM, or 193 positions between 1ms and 2ms for a 50Hz servo PWM. I actually implemented this as a class, but had little spare time to work on it further...

I kinda wanted to show off with 32 servos, but the output connectors of the Shift-Out board are not right for direct servo connection (GND and pulse are swapped, if I remember well). Also I don't have 32 servos, just 8.
November 19, 2016 03:10PM
That sure would be a show-off! smiling smiley

Hmm, I did not think in servos, only steppers. Haven't ever used any servo motors actually.
From what you wrote maybe they would are a better choice to control, as 1 kHz or 50 Hz is way less than what steppers need.