Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

ESP8266 on Prusa i3?

Posted by Life.test 
ESP8266 on Prusa i3?
June 02, 2015 10:38AM
Hey everyone! Newbie here.

I'm about to finish building my first Prusa i3 kit (Ordered from ebay with some missing parts).

I've been reading about having connectivity on the printer and I've heard of the ESP8266 module as a good way of connecting any project to the internet using Wi-Fi.

Did anyone try to connect his/her 3D RepRap printer using this module? (Or any other shield/module for that matter)

I've read a lot about blue-tooth modules, but Wi-Fi would be a lot more advantageous in my case (I spend a lot of time out of home).

I'd appreciate some feedback/help on the matter.

Thanks.
Re: ESP8266 on Prusa i3?
June 02, 2015 10:58AM
As far as I know this has not been attempted yet, but there is nothing technically (again AFAIK) that would prevent an ESP8266 module being used to interface a 3D printer controller to a WiFi LAN. However, please note that after reading the ESP8266 specs I personally have concluded that it adds an excessive latency to the usual Command/ok-response communication loop between the PC and the 3D printer.

Until somebody effectively implements an ESP8266 and experiments and takes some measurements, I am sticking to this preliminary analysis: it may work, but may not be a practical solution.

Something that demonstrably works very well is this: [reprap.org]. I use it everyday for printing on various 3D printers.
June 02, 2015 11:31AM
I am looking into using the ESP8266 for interfacing my budget 32-bit board design to WiFi. The board will support RepRapFirmware 3D printer control firmware, which includes an embedded a web server. Latency isn't a significant problem in this mode, because the machine will be printing from the SD card. Bandwidth of the ESP8266 is more of an issue, especially when making the initial connection to the machine, and when uploading files to print.