Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Reprap Host software over USB on Android

Posted by WiESELMan 
Reprap Host software over USB on Android
November 05, 2012 07:31PM
I am an Electrical Engineering student starting work on my Senior design project that involves an Android to Zigbee bridge device with an Android App and an Android Accessory.

I'm also a Reprap nut, and want to help contribute to the cause. I was thinking a good first step for my project would be to write an Android app that would use the USB port on an Android phone (I have an extra LG Optimus) that acts as a touch screen controller for my 3D printer.

I have been looking around quite a bit looking for other projects to fork and build from, but I haven't found any clear options. I have seen the bluetooth Reprap app but all I would end up using from it is the front end and i think I should just start from scratch with that.

I have a few choices that I need to make before I go forward. Ultimately I would like to make this program have as many features as people have requests, but I need to start somewhere.

I need to decide if I am going to start with the Android Open Accessory Protocol, or the Android Host API.

If I use the Open Accessory Protocol, the set up necessary to run the app would be as follows:

Android Device requirement:

Any phone or tablet with Android 2.3.4 and up.

This lets more phones come to the party, from what I understand this is something like 80% of Android phones in use. I have my extra LG Optimus that would fit the bill.

Reprap controller requirement:

Controller with USB host capabilities.

This really limits things, the only controller that I can think of off the top of my head would be an Arduino ADK or Arduino Due with a RAMPS Shield. Luckily I have an ADK with a RAMPS 1.4.

Firmware requirement:

Forked firmware with Android Open Accessory Library included as an alternative source of communication.