Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

New & Interested

Posted by chanqiyu 
New & Interested
December 03, 2013 02:34AM
Hi everyone!

i'm new to 3d printing but am interested to get/build one for personal interests & research/study purposes.

I was waiting for makibox to go into full scale production but sadly until now they aren't able to even fulfil their preorders..
does anyone have any advice on alternatives? some mentoring/guidance would be great as i'm pretty much a noob here >_<

please contact me at chanqiyu[at]Hotmail.com!

thanks for your time smiling smiley

Regards,
Ben
Re: New & Interested
December 04, 2013 03:05AM
bad news about your order
i have recently posted the cost of building a Prusa Air 2 so you can check that thread

also just found RS components are stocking kits now !!

Please don't ask people to contact your email ...the whole point of a forum is to post to it so everybody shares info
private emails defeat the object of a forum !!

Good luck

CHeers
December 09, 2013 12:01AM
Look around the forums and online, there are many models of reprap 3d printers. For a start I guess you can start with Prusa i3 (or any model if you have any preference), it's one of the more popular model currently so it's easy to get help if you have some problems. From there you can learn more and tweak it to meet your needs or get another model that suits you better. Once you've decided on the model, you could either source for your own parts or get a kit depending on your experience, familiarity and how adventurous you are. Haha.

And yeah, post up all these info online so that somebody else can see them. Don't need to be shy. smiling smiley
December 09, 2013 04:14AM
Thanks Bigfilsing and Chngyian!

I'm currently thinking/considering the prusa i3, mendelmax 1.5 or the soliddoodle 2 (for both PLA and ABS printing) or maybe a portabee one, but don't know which is a good starter and which are more recommended and stuff for starters >_<