Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Suitable resin chemistries

Posted by nastybyte 
Suitable resin chemistries
April 16, 2014 06:04AM
For a UV-curable resin to be suitable for 3D printing i guess the critical property must be how photosensitive it is, to maximize print speed. I'm a chemist by profession but i haven't any experience with polymer chemistry, and i think i'd like to read up on the subject. What mechanism(s) cause a material to photopolymerise, and how would one optimize this behaviour? I've read some very interesting hints about what might be done, like cooking a UV-resin from linseed oil (Green Chem, 2011, 13, 1014 DOI: 10.1039/c1gc15038c). With a bit of research, it sounds to me like it would be possible to make your own resin from mostly renewable, dirt-cheap or even self-produced precursors. I also read somewhere about someone who built a kayak with epoxy resin synthesized from, i think it was, linseed oil, but i can't find any details on this. Epoxy is a bit pricey, it'd be awsum to be able to DIY in my opinion. Anyone else here thinking in these patterns? Is there any opensource development being done in this area?
A2
Re: Suitable resin chemistries
April 16, 2014 07:49AM
Looking forward to following your progress.
Do you have, or plan to build a DLP projector, or laser printer.
April 16, 2014 05:24PM
I haven't decided anything yet but it seems to me that laser is the way to go. However, i'll need some kind of instruction to follow for the build - laser optics, circuit design and programming are not my areas of expertise.

I can think of a number of reasons for choosing the laser-based design:
* Cost. I have a lot of time, but correspondingly little (no) money.
* Intensity.
* X,Y Resolution. With the projector resolution is limited by the resolution of the projector, with the laser it's the lasers wavelength that decides..need to say more?