Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Hello reprap world! and the ceramic slib printhead

Posted by unfold 
Hello reprap world! and the ceramic slib printhead
February 02, 2009 01:54PM
Hello Reprappers!

This is my first post so lets first introduce myself:
My name is Dries and I am an independent designer from Belgium. I studied at the Design academy in Eindhoven, Netherlands where I developed a strong interest in computer aided design (or what i call 'human aided' design). Unfolding complex 3d objects like a 3d scan of my own body into flat patterns which could be recreated from any sheet material was one of those techniques that I have been using since then. Besides being a designer I'm also a lecturer at the Fontys University of Applied sciences in Eindhoven, department of ICT and Media Design.

In June we plan to do an exhibit+project in New York with several other designers and institutes titled Bits and Pieces which focuses on the roll of design/the designer in the post-digital era.
The aim of the project is to start a longer lasting relation/cooperation between designers, researchers, institutes and artists. The show in NY will be rather small, a version 1.0. Later that year it will go to Eindhoven and Hasselt (belgium). It won't be the same show, it will evolve further and new connections and iterations will be made, v2.0 and 3.0.