Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Filament stuck in hotend after first print - unable to cleanly start more prints

Posted by leif 
Filament stuck in hotend after first print - unable to cleanly start more prints
December 08, 2017 08:30AM
Hi all,
I am pretty new to 3d printing here, so please close window before you get anoyed or ask me to search wiki smiling smiley

Note: Over the last year, I have built myself a delta mini kossel based mostly off DC42 design of the large delta built. Its got an E3D v6 hotend with smarteffector and a duet wifi controller. I have E3D PLA using it on 220deg C.

The printer calibrates well, but now starting to print my issue is really that the filament gets stuck in the hotend between prints and I am unable to cleanly start more prints

I have loaded filament manually at 220 after homing and calibrating bed. I run out 10-20mm and then start print. After print is finished, I stop printer and it cools down. My question is, should I really after print run filament out again 10-20 and pull it quickly out manually to have it ready before cooldown?

I read somewhere that people just let the printer cool down and start next print later on, which is what I have been trying to do. However, this is not working well for me. Filament is stuck and I then need to clean out nozzle and heatbreak, which I did by torch initially .. which is possibly exessive and should probably not be done this way smiling smiley :/ well, I learn many things lately.

Question is really, how do you guys manage the filament and printer between prints? I usually get 1-2 hour of playtime before evening and then proceed next day. So I would like to have printer in shape to start printing again next day when next print is planned.

Leif

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 12/08/2017 10:14AM by leif.
Re: Filament stuck in hotend after first print - unable to cleanly start more prints
December 08, 2017 10:23AM