Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Building a Kossel: Need advice on final parts

Posted by Riggi 
Building a Kossel: Need advice on final parts
January 26, 2017 07:04AM
Hi!

I'm a Industrial Product Design student who has been looking into the RepRap scene for about a month now as I want my very own printer. I have experience with printing, but obviously not with making one myself. I've been doing research on a few different RepRap printers and I've decided to go for a Kossel cause of it's speed, which would be useful for rapid prototyping, and it's high quality prints. However, none of the existing Kossel kits that are out there on the market, appeal to me due to my limited price budget (maximum of about 600 EUR) or just not satisfied with the specifications of the kit. As a result, I've been working on my own (rather extensive?) part list for a few weeks now, with the goal to achieve the highest quality prints and the biggest print surface for about 600 EUR.

Right now, I've settled on a Duet board with nema 17 stepper motors with a stepping angle of 0.9° (running at 24V), a heated bed, auto calibration and most likely an E3D V6 hotend and V-Rollers for the linear motion. The remaining parts that I haven't decided on yet, are the extruder, the size of the aluminum extrusions, the rod ends for the carbon fiber rods and the print surface.

The current list of possibilities are the following:

Aluminum Extrusions:
  • Robotdigg 2020 XL kit (3x 750mm for vertical, 9x 360 mm for horizontal) (are these compatible with V-Rollers?)
  • 3x 1000 mm V-Slot 2040 (vertical) and 9x Misumi 500 mm 2020 (horizontal) (

Extruder:
  • Delta Sextruder
  • Flex3Drive
  • Vaeder V-Struder
  • 3Dator Bowden extruder
  • Titan Extruder
  • Wade's Geared Extruder

Carbon fiber rods (also depends on length of the extrusions)
  • Traxxas rod ends
  • Hayden's Magnetic rod ends

The full list of the part list are available on the following spreadsheet: [docs.google.com]