Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Ordered Kossel Mini v3 from TP3D - prebuild suggestions?

Posted by AdamHI 
Ordered Kossel Mini v3 from TP3D - prebuild suggestions?
April 22, 2016 04:23PM
Pretty excited,

Been lurking for a while, but just placed an order for a Kossel Mini kit from Think3DPrint3D (TP3D), their v3. Getting the Panel Due with it.
The have a 10 day lead time right now, then shipping to me half-way around the globe.

I'm new to 3D printers, but competent with electronics. Been reading TP3D's build instructions, DC42's blog and posts, and other forum posts (including this really useful one for an XL build - The first beta machine based on DC42's Kossel XL) . I won't be going XL, but the post was chock full of helpful info.

I'm trying to keep notes to help the build be accurate and initial operations go smoothly. My goal is to print functional pieces, as opposed to vases and other pretty pieces. Will probably be trying out some new materials like ColorFabb's PLA/PHA, XT or NGen.

Have, ordered or collected a few things that seem to be recommended:

1) Digital micrometer
2) Accurate ruler
3) Blue tape and glue stick
4) Filament
5) DMM

I'd love to hear what you more experienced folks would recommend for things i should watch out for during the build. I'm most likely going to stick to the build guide, but am will to listen to variations that would be suggested.

Looking forward to the start of a new time-sink.

--adam

Honolulu, HI
TP3D Kossel Mini v3 (being built)
Re: Ordered Kossel Mini v3 from TP3D - prebuild suggestions?
April 22, 2016 07:38PM
12" square
April 23, 2016 02:44AM
I recommend ball ended hex screwdrivers in 2 and 2.5mm sizes. The kit includes ball ended hex keys, but soft-handle hex screwdrivers are quicker and more comfortable to use for most of the screws.

A square is also an excellent suggestion, to help avoid leaning towers