Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

FLSUN from AliExpres

Posted by LVD 
Re: FLSUN from AliExpres
January 23, 2017 12:00PM
Gordon W
Grateful for all advice and suggestions - I am quite new to this metier - but I have a reasonable background in machine automation. When the MINTEMP error first occurred I checked the connections and seating. It re-occurred so I replaced the thermistor and cable. It recurred - but only on long infills - say a raft for a 180 mm circle. I saw that as the head approached the brim the display would dim; sometimes it would not extrude properly; and sometimes it would MINTEMP. It only occurs when the bed is heated as well. I have concluded (admittedly from a limited knowledge base) that the power available was less than required. So it is fixed to the extent that it can be avoided if the bed is not heated or I don't try large infills. I've found this printer works well for about 30% of the theororetical build area (i.e. up to about 100mm diameter). I'm thinking of either power the heated bed separately (having the arduino outputs switch a relay instead of powering the heated bed. Or buying a more robust controller.

Regards

Gordon

If the display is dimming then the 5V rail is not stable. Does your printer have a graphical LCD or a servo attached? If so, this is a common problem (system design fault) with Arduino/Mega/LCD-or-servo setups. An electronics upgrade will indeed fix it, but it is not the only way. See [reprap.org]. It's just possible that the 12V supply is the problem (and it dropping enough that the 5V rail dips in turn), but it's more likely to be the 5V regulator.

Edited 2 time(s). Last edit at 01/23/2017 12:03PM by dc42.

Large delta printer [miscsolutions.wordpress.com], E3D tool changer, Robotdigg SCARA printer, Crane Quad and Ormerod

Disclosure: I design Duet electronics and work on RepRapFirmware, [duet3d.com].
January 23, 2017 07:54PM
spinor