Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Kossel Mini xy calibration issue

Posted by BlueMan 
Kossel Mini xy calibration issue
February 24, 2016 03:03PM
Hi everyone
I'm an engineering student so I now something about technology. Normally I can solve the issues myself or via Google. This time, however, I'm sitting for hours in front of my newly build kossel mini (even uses rails). This is my problem:

I get a difference of about 2.5-3% in x and y dimensions of the object, z-height is perfectly calibrated... I can only calibrate x or y and the other one is off by about 3%. I already have a MendelMax 1.5+ updated (so I'm not a beginner) and I used it to print the Kossel parts and tried to put them together as best as I could. I also tried to calibrate the kossel using different guides but the error still exists. Then using Rich's Marlin with "G30 A" command the difference gets even worse (up to 5%).
I can only see/measure very very little build errors and can't image that they would have such a huge impact on the build quality as others surely haven't build their delta as carefully as I have...
Also all steps per unit are the same, the current per motor is exactly 1A as advised (more doesn't change anything regarding this error). I'm using FSR currently but am changing to a proximty sensor soon. I'm using Ramps 1.4

If you could please help my that'd great. I've spent hours trying to fix this...
Re: Kossel Mini xy calibration issue
February 24, 2016 06:31PM
Seems you need to calibrate your "DELTA_DIAGONAL_ROD" on Marlin-RC you can do it on EEPROM command M666, just cant remember what letter it is (think is "D"). See "4- Calibrate the firmware to print to correct dimensions." in the link below it can help you

[minow.blogspot.mx]

Regards
February 24, 2016 09:05PM
It's not your DELTA_DIAGONAL_ROD, as I'm sure you're aware.