Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Folger Tech Kossel 2020 Rev B: Complete Beginner

Posted by ekul1018 
Folger Tech Kossel 2020 Rev B: Complete Beginner
October 19, 2015 07:45PM
Hello,

I have been considering buying the Folger Tech Kossel 2020 Rev B. It's seemingly the cheapest printer for the quality and size you can print. I am a total beginner and have never built one of these kits before. I have a little experience with a Makerbot Rep 2 making small repairs and adjustments to it. I have also dabbled in Arudino programming and small electronic kits. I feel pretty confident in my ability to get this up and running. Should I? Are there any really important things I should know before I put the money into this? Are there any guides or hubs specific to this model? I can't seem to find any reviews or very thorough instructions. Is there a place for common problems, tips or upgrades relating to this model? I want to get into the community and am looking for a place to start.

Thank you!
Re: Folger Tech Kossel 2020 Rev B: Complete Beginner
October 20, 2015 04:45PM
You are just a few posts from the best source of support and help you will find.

As for buying, the kit is a ok starting point but you will probably replace a lot of parts from the kit over time. You will get a better printer for the same money if you source the parts yourself. Stronger 0.9 degree motors, 32 bit electronics, more accurate aluminum corners, a better extruder, sliders that don't have to be modified, wheels with better bearings and so on.

Good luck!
October 21, 2015 10:53AM
Slowfoot is right, you get what you pay for. However, most people seem to want a second printer at some point, rather than using their existing components / vitamins for a different design. So I think a cheap kit is a good place to get your feet wet and give you the experience and knowledge to try building other printer designs from scratch if the bug bites you.
October 21, 2015 11:00AM