Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Delta Printer bad prints

Posted by Stephanel 
Delta Printer bad prints
February 16, 2015 03:03PM
Hey!

I have build a delta printer (picture) but have quite some issues with the bowden extruder. It includes a z probe to do auto calibration. That seems to work.

I have some experience with a normal "cartesian" printer, but I do not have experience with the issues I am now having with printing with my delta printer.

When I print a cylinder, my first layer looks like this:

Obviously this is not what I want :-) What I find odd is that

• The lines are not touching eachother (evidently)
  • The lines seem not to be parallel
  • The lines do not touch the outside circle...

Also, I am having issues with the PLA not sticking to the bed. However, as it's not a heated bed (yet), I can understand that.

Lastly, when I move to the next level, it seems that the extruder hits the extruded filament. Should I increase the layer height in the slicer software, or is this working on the symptoms rather than working on the actual cause of the problems?

Thanks a lot for all your insights!
Steph
Attachments:
open | download - delta printer.jpg (121 KB)
Re: Delta Printer bad prints
February 16, 2015 03:40PM
It sounds to me that when the firmware thinks the printer is at Z=0, the nozzle is actually a little way off the bed.

Large delta printer [miscsolutions.wordpress.com], E3D tool changer, Robotdigg SCARA printer, Crane Quad and Ormerod

Disclosure: I design Duet electronics and work on RepRapFirmware, [duet3d.com].
February 16, 2015 05:51PM
Hey dc42!

thanks for your advice!! I did another calibration which took the better part of this evening :-) and now it seems to already be much improved, although still not where I want to be.

It is really interesting to see the difference in the calibration! These are the parameters of the first calibration:

21:52:52.973 : echo: Endstop adjustment (mm):