Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Idea for magnetic joint

Posted by jaistanley 
Idea for magnetic joint
November 03, 2014 06:20PM
Hey guys,

I'm currently designing a delta printer with stuff that is scrap/surplus at work... I'm lucky, I work as an engineer in an Automotive parts manufacturers.

Anyway, whilst looking for a ball joint solution I have taken an interest in magnetic solutions.. They are quick release, low to zero backlash and, well, cool.

I really like the versions where a 10mm ball ended cutter creates a socket from a hex head bolt, I can replicate these easily in the work-shop. These got me searching on ebay and I came across hundreds of neodymium magnets that have a countersunk hole in them, presumably at a 45. I also Google'd '10mm ball stud' and put two and two together..

Perhaps we could use steel ball studs and insert them into one of these chamfered magnets?? I don't propose that the surface of either the ball stud, or more pertinently the magnet, represent a good bearing surface, but with a Teflon interface or a silicone based grease would create a very low friction, and reasonably good joint. Perhaps a ball end mill could be used to finish the surface of the magnet?

What do you guys think?

[www.ameritoolmfg.com]

[www.first4magnets.com]

Jai

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 11/03/2014 06:30PM by jaistanley.
Re: Idea for magnetic joint
November 03, 2014 09:39PM
jaistanley
Perhaps a ball end mill could be used to finish the surface of the magnet?
Jai

"20. Can I cut, drill, or machine neodymium magnets?