Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Rostock Printer build

Posted by jaguarking11 
Rostock Printer build
April 18, 2014 10:49AM
I am looking at building a rostock Style printer. However I keep searching and cannot find a definitive answer to the burning question of what are the actual dimensions of the body of the printer. I keep finding drawings but no dimensions are present or at least the geometry for them. This would be my first 3d printer and have decided to take the hard path and build it from scratch and really learn about the mechanical aspects of this. please go easy on me as for all intensive purposes I am a complete newbie.

Another question I have is I keep seeing these ramps 1.4 boards for sale on e-bay from chinese manufacturers that include the arduino and stepper drivers and a whole slew of different parts ranging from heated beds to end-stops. Are they any good? here is a one of them... LINK Seems like a good price...

3rd questions is I am looking at using nema17 steppers. Are they sufficient? I keep seeing a pretty wild difference in price for these. Some as low as 50bux for 5 of them and some as high as 50bux per motor. I'm not going to post another link as they are from the same source as above.

A bit of guidance for this newbie would be greatly appreciated.
Re: Rostock Printer build
April 19, 2014 03:40AM
I also interested in reviews of Chinese sets, there are some absolutely fantastic prices from sellers with high ratings! For example here ! Who can say something about them?

jaguarking11, this will help.
April 19, 2014 01:48PM
I used that exact set for my Cherry Pi II build. Works great.

It was with me a week after I ordered it (i'm in the UK). I will definitely use them again.

Andy
April 20, 2014 11:29PM
pamalofeev
I also interested in reviews of Chinese sets, there are some absolutely fantastic prices from sellers with high ratings! For example here ! Who can say something about them?

jaguarking11, this will help.