Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Rumba Microstepping Jumpers

Posted by AndyCart 
Rumba Microstepping Jumpers
October 29, 2013 11:43AM
Hi All

I am in the final assembly stages of a 3DR and have the x y and z and extruder motors wired up to my rumba board. I have downloaded and installed the marlin firmware from richrap's github and all appears o.k. The display looks good and the printer reports what I would expect in pronterface. The problem is my steppers won't move. The best I have had is that they vibrate and grind but don't go anywhere. I'm fairly new to this as my current printer (huxley) was built from a kit. I am assuming the jumpers under my pololu boards need setting. The problem is that I can't find out anywhere how they should be setup. I have jumpers (3) rather than switches under each driver board. I have already had a wisp of smoke so I think one of my driver boards is toast. I did set the pots to read 0.45V prior to connecting the motors.

Hope someone can help me.

Regards

Andy

Ps the end stops on the potentiometers are o.k

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 10/31/2013 02:14AM by AndyCart.
Re: Rumba Microstepping Jumpers
October 29, 2013 12:52PM
Which drivers are you using on your Rumba?
October 29, 2013 12:52PM
I'm about to buid one also but presently have no knowledge of the Rumba board. The vibration and grind sounds are typical of misswired motor windings with any type driver board. Sounds like the motors are not wired properly.
October 29, 2013 12:58PM
If you are using the new DRV8825 - it must be rotated 180 degrees from the standard driver.

[forum.reprapdiscount.com]

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 10/29/2013 01:00PM by Xabbax.

You only learn when you change your mind.
[www.deltaprinter.co.za]
October 29, 2013 01:25PM
Thanks for the quick replies guys. I'm using the A4988 Pololu compatible driver from Reprapdiscount. I'm not sure what 'rotated 180 degrees' means ???