Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

New build, pre-design questions, extrusions, shafts, dimensions, electronics

Posted by SaleB 
New build, pre-design questions, extrusions, shafts, dimensions, electronics
February 03, 2017 06:04AM
Six months ago I have bought a Malyan M150 as my entrance into the 3D printing technology. The idea was to change a few parts, make a few suggested upgrades and make it much better. A few months later I got aware of it's limitations, so I want to build something myself. Of all the system I have seen I like Ultimaker idea the most, but I am not an mechanical engineer nor have much experience with the 3D printing technology, so I need a few suggestions, before I start drawing, and probably a few afterward.

1. dimensions. Outside dimensions of the cage should be about 500x500x500mm, for about 380-420mm printing capacity in each direction.

2. extrusions. I have read about people making machines with 20x20mm profiles, but also read about people who wanted rigid construction, that they opted for 40x40 and 40x80. I want a heavier machine, not prone to vibration, capable of high speed movement, but do not want to oversize the cage. I am thinking about 30x30mm for lower horizontals and verticals and 30x60mm for the upper horizontals. Would that be enough from the standpoint of rigidity?

3. shafts. I understand that in that configuration the rails hold very small weight and are mostly exposed to high torsion forces. If available I would probably go with anodized aluminum or hollow anodized aluminum, but it is probable that it would not be available, so if anything fails it leaves me with chrome plated hardened steed HRC60. Anyway 8mm should be enough for steel