Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Z axis faster than xy axis

Posted by IgorBiemann 
Z axis faster than xy axis
October 21, 2017 07:22PM
Hello everyone, i'm strugling in feedrates and aceleration, cause I cant insert more than 5mm/s in xy feedrate and 5mm/s2 in aceleration(more than this value and i get skiping steps), but in z axis i can uise more and get no trouble, but they are same step motors.Im using drv8825 , 2,2 kgf stepmotors with no microsteps, and ramps 1.4.
Re: Z axis faster than xy axis
October 22, 2017 02:40AM
Why do you drive the steppers in full step mode?
Did you adjust the driver current?
Can you move the XY-mechanics easily without binding?
October 22, 2017 12:59PM
I'm using marlin as firmware, i'm not an expert, but if i use microsteps, they lose their strenght, right?I've told that z axis can handle more feed rate and aceleration, but I did a test with my father today, and even if I put 50 mm/s in feed rate, looks like its going still in5 mm/s, even if I adjust xy axis with 50mm/s, to make then work in same speeds, xy axis skip steps, but z axis looks the same speed.but in terms of aceleration, with 5mm/s2, z axis works with no variation, looks like it has a unchange aceleration, but if a insert something like 50mm/s in feedrate, I can hear the diference in start (getting acelerated)middle travel, and final travel (loosing speed)Maybe has a problem with the drv8825?motors have s 1A , so I've set driver with Vref 0,5, is it correct?I'm not sure if you have undestood all of this.tomorrow I can send pics in here to a better explanation.By the way, It's a 3d printer that I build with my father from zero, but we've managed to build a CNC from zero too, but grbl ir much more easy to .Thanks for replying.
October 22, 2017 08:09PM
I was Reading in this forum, that maybe exist a problem with pulse widht in drv8825, maybe is there a connection?
October 23, 2017 04:45AM
IgorBiemann