Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Problem with Ponterface printer interface

Posted by Dobert 
Problem with Ponterface printer interface
January 15, 2012 08:26AM
To start off with, I hope I'm on the right forum section. If not, please let me know.

I'm a first time builder of a prusa mendel. The mechanical build went without a hitch.
I have a sanguinololu 3D-printer driver that was pre-built including firmware. The sanuigololu has12V and is connected to the computer via an USP port.

I first downloaded the Python software and then the Ponterface and Sfact software from Githb all into one directory. I've included a screen shot of the printer interface and a photo of the sanguinololu as attachments.

I know I'm doing something wrong because the print ikon is not active.
I down loaded a .stl file and slicing seems to have worked OK
All I really want to do at this moment is to get the X-axis to do somthing

My questions are:

1. Have I down loaded the correct software or am I missing something?
2. Do I need to change the Com1 port. If so, How and to what?
3. Or have I wrongly connected the sauguinololu?

As you can see, I'm not an expert and need a kick start to proceed to the next fase.

Edited 3 time(s). Last edit at 01/15/2012 11:19AM by Dobert.
Attachments:
open | download - screen shot.png (27.3 KB)
open | download - Sanguinololu with Y-axis wiring.pdf (155.7 KB)
Re: Problem with Ponterface printer interface
January 16, 2012 02:28AM
First of all you have to press the connect button.
If it doesn't connect then you may indeed have the wrong COM port.
Look in your devices at COM & LPT ports and you should see an FTDI virtual COM port.
It is usually COM3 or COM2 but can also be COM1, COM4, COM5 and etcetera.
Change the COM port to the one where the FTDI is connected and press the connect button.
If it still doesn't connect then the baudrate may be wrong.
This must be what is set in the firmware.

Bob Morrison
Wörth am Rhein, Germany