Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Centrifugal laser sintering

Posted by timthelion 
Centrifugal laser sintering
January 08, 2015 08:29PM
Hello,

I'm new to laser sintering. So new, infact, that I'm still stupid and naive enough to be having semi-utopian fantasies about it. I'd like to do some basic experiments with an idea that I've got in my head to put the powder in a centrifuge while sintering. As I said, I don't know anything about laser sintering, and I'm just mulling over the idea to see if it's worth while. I'd love to hear your opinions on it.

Tim
Re: Centrifugal laser sintering
January 09, 2015 12:38AM
Ok, interesting idea. Here's how I would rough & ready prototype it for liquid SLA:

* Materials:
** Vertcal centrifuge (1m diameter so we don't have to go so fast) with water-tight sides
*** The sides should be high enough to contain all the SLA fluid for a full build when the centrifuge is stopped (to prevent spills on a power outage)
** Hall sensor + magent on centrifuge or optical encoder as timing/sync pulses for laser control.
** UV Laser on a lead screw on a stepper
*** This could be near the bed or near the rotation axis of the centrifuge
** Peristaltic pump to dispense SLA fluid into centrifuge/remove fluid after build
** Big tub of SLA fluid.
** Arduino

The build process would go as follows:

* Spinup to 9.8m/s^2 centripetal acceleration (dry)
* Per layer:
** Rotate peristalic pump N times to dispense one layers worth of SLA fluid
** Per line of layer:
*** Step laser one spot-width
*** Wait for sync pulse from centrifuge sensor
*** Blit laser pattern for the line
** After all lines are printed, retract laser to home step position.
* After all layers are printed, spin down
* Drain SLA fluid
* Remove parts form the centrifuge

For people with the know-how, a '1-D mirror galvo on a stick' would do nicely too.