Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Recoating blade speed

Posted by Pulp64 
Recoating blade speed
May 07, 2012 07:21PM
Hi guys, Im new to this fourm and Ive got a few quick questions I was hoping I could get some help with.
Whats the fastest speed of a powder recoating blade you guys have come accross and what would be the theoretical limit? Either a machine or a paper to back it up would be nice and has anyone seen CO2 laser used to sinter polymer powders in use with DLP tech or are CO2 lasers just too powerful? Or any type of area sintering tech in use for sintering of polymers?
Thanks for reading!
VDX
Re: Recoating blade speed
May 08, 2012 03:27AM
... the systems I've seen were in the range of some ten mm/s, so not really fast.

The limits are either defined by the need to avoid turbulences in the air or electrostatic charging of the particles.

With fluids (e.g. UV-resins in STL-printers) its even slower, as you'll receive problems with viscosity and dynamic pressure-changes when pushing to much of the resin across.

Mostly this isn't dramatic, as the most time consuming step is the curing of the actual slice.

A better point to optimize could be a 'continuous' recoating as in a turning disk.

As you mostly can adjust the power of a laser-puls, this 'to powerfull' won't be a problem.

CO2-lasers are commonly used for sintering plastic powders.

And if you need something for experimenting, I can support you with IR-diodelasers with 5 or 9 Watts @975nm wavelength - here some infos regarding my first DIY-laserheads: [objects.reprap.org]

Viktor
--------
Aufruf zum Projekt "Müll-freie Meere" - [reprap.org] -- Deutsche Facebook-Gruppe - [www.facebook.com]

Call for the project "garbage-free seas" - [reprap.org]
Re: Recoating blade speed
June 21, 2012 07:58AM