Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

The Phoenix Project: Recycled Epson Printer Parts into 3D Printer

Posted by disneytoy 
VDX
Re: The Phoenix Project: Recycled Epson Printer Parts into 3D Printer
December 04, 2012 03:01AM
... ye older, the better motors were used - newer printers/scanner mostly use DC-motors with optical stripes, in older systems you'll find NEMA17 or sometimes even NEMA23-steppers ...

In a really old type-wheel-printer I've found a linear drive for the (real heavy) head with a milled comb-bar across the printer and a group of small solenoids in the head, representing a linear stepper-like driving mechanism winking smiley

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 12/04/2012 03:03AM by VDX.

Viktor
--------
Aufruf zum Projekt "Müll-freie Meere" - [reprap.org] -- Deutsche Facebook-Gruppe - [www.facebook.com]

Call for the project "garbage-free seas" - [reprap.org]
December 12, 2012 03:25AM
Hi Guys,

Well an update. I'm not an electronics expert, but I can follow directions. I have the parts I need from 2 Epson Photo 13" printers and I just dismantled a Apple Laser writer pro 600. Boy is that heavy.

I got stuck on the driver side. I have an Arduino. Understand how it communicates to a stepper. The Arduino doesn't speak the same as the stepper drivers from the printer.

The beauty of doing this correctly, is we already have power, wiring, stepper controller and end sensors wired and ready to go. We just need to know where on the printer motherboard to tap in.
Yes, you can pull off the parts and start from scratch. But if you do this right, all the hard part has been done by Epson.

When I get some time and maybe some electronics advice, I want to figure how to have the Arduino send the signals to the chips on the Epson.

In the Laser printer are components that could be used as a hot head. There are some high temperature parts to melt the toner.

I think I may like to build it as a Delta 3D printer. I've seen some cool designs.