Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Low-cost, easy to build Repstrap for a mechanical klutz

Posted by TBJ 
TBJ
Low-cost, easy to build Repstrap for a mechanical klutz
July 25, 2011 05:32AM
Hello! I'm posting this because I thought someone may be interested in my project. I'll give you a bit of background first.

I'm a computer programmer by trade, and I'm fairly competent at electronics. However, I'm also tight-fisted and, most importantly, completely rubbish at anything that involves mechanics or fabrication. If I attempt to pick up a spanner or wield an angle grinder or MIG welder, the inevitable result is blood, lots of swearing and no useful output. grinning smiley

I've been interested in 3D printers and, specifically, Reprap for about a year now - I'd like to own one for a variety of reasons, the main one being that I'm interested in developing the project further one day (and specifically in the possibility of designing and building extremely low-cost machines using DC servo motors and cheap electronics). However, to do that, I need a starter machine.

The eventual plan is to build a Prusa Mendel, but before I can do that I need something to print my parts on (in other words, a Repstrap). I wanted to build this Repstrap almost entirely out of scrap and salvaged parts, while making as many cost savings as possible.

Here are the basics:

- Stepper motors and drivebelts are salvaged from old scanners.
- Frame is built entirely out of scrap wood.
- Heavy duty drawer slides will be used for the linear movement. These can be salvaged from old filing cabinets; I've bought mine for about £10 a pair (annoyingly, you need three of them)...
- ...and on that, only one slide is used per axis. I have no idea how well this is going to work. I'm just hoping it might be accurate enough to get me going on printing out a set of parts for a better machine.