Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

ABS lifting is driving me nuts!!!!

Posted by 366Cobra 
ABS lifting is driving me nuts!!!!
October 21, 2016 07:29AM
Hi,

I am new to 3d printing and bought a Reprap Prusa i3 (clone?) from Aliexpress.
I have tried to print stuff, but cannot get it to stick to the plate, no matter what I try.
The edges always lift and then the print is ruined, as the hot-end breaks the print.
There is no draft and the indoor temperature is about 22 deg C.

Printer:
[www.aliexpress.com]
Filament:
[www.hobbyking.com]
but in black

What I have tried so far - from posts by people having the same issues/solutions:
1. Heat bed between 80 and 110 deg C
2. Hot-end between 230 and 256 deg C (260 deg and the filament starts crackling).
3. Blue High temperature tape for 3D printing
4. ABS goo directly on table and on tape
5. Painter's tape
6. Printed a 5mm brim
7. The table is leveled using the paper 'trick', but have ordered a feeler gauge to have an exact 0.1mm gap.
8. Used Cura and Repetier-host on Mac and Windows 10

Every time I print something, it lifts off the bed as the printed base is round/buckled.
If I use tape, it creates a bubble under the tape and the part wiggles and then gets pushed off around by the print head.
If I use ABS goo, you can see the brim being pulling up. I have tried using a small amount of goo and quiet a bit as well.

The last object I have printed was a heat tower to see what temp works best. The first temperature was 256 degC and it got to 254 degC before failing.
As you can see in the attachment, it lifted off the bed as the printed base is 'round', the print head shifted it and then it started to 'print' in the air.
The print itself is very strong, but the two corners are not touching the heat bed - none of the corners are.

Would be great, if someone has some ideas, as I am running out of them...........
Attachments:
open | download - IMG_20161021_195754.jpg (379.4 KB)
Re: ABS lifting is driving me nuts!!!!