Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Made a stupid mistake - Is control board ruined?

Posted by LutherGP 
Made a stupid mistake - Is control board ruined?
December 23, 2015 05:29PM
Hello,

I'm a 3D printer novice, I just received a HIC Prusa I3 kit as a Christmas present and set to building it over the course of the past couple days. I completed the construction and the wiring, and after double checking that everything looked good, I plugged it in for the first time.

Well, here was my mistake. It's embarrassing now, but I'm going to share it so as to obtain the full picture: The instructions, being as they are from a Chinese company, were rather vague when it came to setting up the power supply. They showed a picture of a person holding the power supply and moving the switch to the right, which was 220V, with the caption "Ensure switch set correctly." So even though my instincts told me 220V wasn't right because I know damn well that all American homes use 120VAC, I left it on 220V.

When I plugged the printer in with this setting, I first heard an ugly whine coming from the power supply. This was followed by smoke rising from the control board. I left it plugged in only long enough to see where the smoke came from (maybe 10-15 seconds tops) and then unplugged it. The smoke was rising from one of the capacitors on the control board near the stepper motor connections.

I then corrected the setting on the power supply back to 110V, and tried again. This time there was no smoke, but nothing at all from the power supply either. The fan wasn't working, and checking the voltages with the multimeter showed that, indeed, the power supply was now not outputting any voltage at all. However, plugging in the USB connection still had the LCD screen lighting up, the firmware booting from the board, and I could navigate the various menus with no problems.