Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

i3 kit or source partd

Posted by czindrick 
i3 kit or source partd
March 13, 2015 10:46PM
I am new to the world of 3d printing. Rather than spending a ton of money on a hobby I am new to I would rather go DIY. Now with all the options out there is it better to go with a kit or source the parts individually?

I am also curious how similar the kits that are sold on eBay or aliexpress compared to the more expensive kits around the 700 dollar range...would I really lose anything beneficial?
Re: i3 kit or source partd
March 14, 2015 06:52PM
For me it was a matter of convenience. I bought a complete kit, A Wilson ts, for $480 from mjrice on eBay.

I found that buying the bom piecemeal would cost just as much as a quality kit.

If considering a kit:
1. Buy from a reputable vendor.
2. Ensure the parts are quality
3. Ensure the support is good

Don't:
1. Buy the cheapest without due diligence.
2. Forget to factor in shipping time, not just the initial time but for replacement parts.

There is nothing worse than buying a kit then waiting 3-4 weeks for it to show up.

Mine was delivered in 3 work days.
March 17, 2015 07:04PM
I'm really new to all this so I went with a kit. I think you can get a better price sourcing the parts but it all comes down to how much risk you are willing to take on. I was willing to deal with cheap parts but not incompatibility. Not to mention that kits are really convenient.

I got the Geeetech Prusa i3 Pro and it is really cheap (both cost and quality). I really don't mind the issues that came with it and was rather surprised with how well it's printing. I paid $360 (us) from ebay via slow boat from china. Personally I was more interested in getting all the needed parts and their compatibility then the quality said parts. I like tinkering so cheap doesn't bother me. I did some research on the extruder/hot end as that was the one part I was worried about.