Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Looking for advice/tips on first reprap kit.

Posted by bj0 
bj0
Looking for advice/tips on first reprap kit.
January 12, 2015 12:36PM
I'm looking to get a RepRap for personal use/diy projects/general fun. I am relatively new to 3D printing (I have some experience using a makerbot replicator but have never owned a 3D printer) so I've been reading through the reprap wiki, some of these forums, and some of the google groups to try and learn as much as I can before picking one up. I have arduino experience.

From what I've read so far I'm thinking for a first printer I should get a full kit of a Prusa i3. I read that kits can vary widely in terms of build quality and print quality, but I can't seem to find much in the way of reviews/recommendations/comparisons. The kits I've been able to find so far (for sale in the US, cheapest to most expensive) are:

replikeo (I don't think this is US): [www.replikeo.com]
diytechshop: [shop.diytechshop.com]
3dprinterczar: [3dprinterczar.com]
makerfarm: [www.makerfarm.com]
nwreprap: [nwreprap.com]

The prices range from 350 - 750. I was wondering if anyone had any experience, reviews, or general advice/tips about what to look at with these (or any other) printers.

Thanks!
Re: Looking for advice/tips on first reprap kit.
January 16, 2015 06:47AM
replikeo (I don't think this is US): [www.replikeo.com] ne
diytechshop: [shop.diytechshop.com] no
makerfarm: [www.makerfarm.com] maybe
nwreprap: [nwreprap.com] no
3dprinterczar: [3dprinterczar.com] should work and you can get a melzi
January 16, 2015 12:51PM
I have been very pleased with my FolgerTech Prusa i3 (my first printer!) that I purchased on eBay for less than $350... It is around $320 now! [LISTING]

I'm happy to provide you some cautions/pointers on this unit's build, as well as provide ready-to-go Marlin firmware for this unit if you need smiling smiley

Check out the photos linked in my signature.