Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Noob, yet to print anything with my Prusa i3 Help needed

Posted by slim2k 
Noob, yet to print anything with my Prusa i3 Help needed
January 07, 2015 07:35AM
Morning All,

I am very new to the amazing world of 3D printing, I have been lurking around these boards for quite a while leeching information.

For Christmas I was lucky enough to receive my first Prusa i3 kit (Which I picked and an now regretting). I went with this kit due to its flexibility and open nature and the fact that so many parts/upgrades can be acquired easily.

The build was fine, First lesson learnt was that an acrylic frame wasn't a good choice, so will be swapping to a ply/mdf in the near future, but its all holding together fine.

Firmware choice was repetier 0.83 along with the host and I am using slic3r to convert the models.

I have a roll of 1.75mm PLA and 1.75mm ABS and have tried printing both, but am having no luck, I have collaborated everything following guides and prints have improved in regards to the first 2 layers, but 3/4 layer on and I am getting prints like attached.

I hot-end is a paper width away from the printed, temps I have tired for PLA (Which I am using) 190-220 with the bed around 40-60.

I have found my best results with a wipe down of action and then a decent spray of hairspray.

One issue I think I do have, is that when messing with laying down the first layer, I have some how managed to block my hotend, which is causing a lack of flow/ extruder motor to jump. But due to in-experience, I may be wrong.

Any help would be appreciated,

Edited 3 time(s). Last edit at 01/07/2015 07:38AM by slim2k.
Attachments:
open | download - 3dprint3.jpg (53.8 KB)
open | download - 3dprint2.jpg (42.4 KB)
open | download - 3dprint3.jpg (53.8 KB)
Re: Noob, yet to print anything with my Prusa i3 Help needed
January 07, 2015 08:42AM
Looks like your first layer is WAY too high.
January 07, 2015 08:46AM